Quotes from across the pond

A few quotes on the love of books from British and Irish authors in honour of “I love to Read Month.”

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! — When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.” 
―    Jane Austen,  Pride and Prejudice (1775 – 1817) Some of her well loved novels include Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion.

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” 
―    C.S. Lewis   (1898 –1963) was a novelist, poet and essayist from Belfast, Ireland. He is most famous for The Screwtape Letters, The Chronicles of Narnia and The Space Trilogy.

“My father had left a small collection of books in a little room upstairs, to which I had access (for it adjoined my own) and which nobody else in our house ever troubled.  From that blessed little room, Roderick Random, Peregrine Pickle, Humphrey Clinker, Tom Jones, the Vicar of Wakefield, Don Quixote, Gil Blas, and Robinson Crusoe, came out, a glorious host, to keep me company.  They kept alive my fancy, and my hope of something beyond that place and time . . .” Charles Dickens, David Copperfield (1812 –1870) was an English writer, often thought of as the greatest novelist of the Victorian period.

This entry was posted in positive quotes - 365 days project and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

